Critique and Advice; the treadmill of adventuring.

Critique and Advice; the treadmill of adventuring.
RE: Critique and Advice; the treadmill of adventuring.
I'm kinda new to this whole "actually serious adventure" thing, and I already need some help (or at least some feedback) on Perception. Is the prose too purple? Am I giving enough room for suggestions? How can I give more? How do I deal with having too much backstory and too little plot?
You're doing just fine, as far as I can tell. The prose is easy enough to understand, and making an early habit of giving explicit prompts is good for suggestions. I would do the same, but I'm already several chapters into my adventure, and I value consistency in writing more than I do suggestions.

Don't be afraid to go all Tarantino on our asses and use flashbacks and non-chronological storytelling; maybe your backstory IS your plot.
[Image: tN4CQnw.png][Image: 6miAxpY.png][Image: xrt4V73.png]
[Image: LAbvoew.png][Image: kHYNSyp.png][Image: 2xEY8jD.png]
Re: Perception: It seems good so far, I don't think the prose is too purple at all. The figurative language is descriptive and purposeful and doesn't seem to drag the narrative down or get in the way.
I also agree that if the backstory is more important or interesting you could consider going fully non-linear with the narrative if you think it would be a good way to explore those past events.

So, I feel like I've put up enough stuff on Eagle Time that I feel okay with asking for some feedback on Reforge (specifically the current stuff on ET more than the super old and pre-ET bits). This is the first big creative thing I've ever done, and I don't have any clue what I'm doing!
Any tips on how to write unique character voice? Also, how do you do tone? Because I feel like my adventure always ends up all over the place in that regard.