Ghostwriter

Ghostwriter
Ghostwriter
[Image: iypDh99.png]

Good afternoon.

I am a fully-functioning and fully-employed living being who does not require inputs in order to function. I am acting of my own volition, and don't like the typical impression from somebody like you that I am a character in a story. I am not being written, and I am not predictable. I revel in this fact. I am a writer, myself, and value my ability to create worlds which have a nigh-infinite fidelity, which can grow and change on their own, which can escape my clutches. I enjoy prose and, for the purpose of this experiment, will be describing my environment in high detail.

You are elsewhere. It's tough to say if you're in another universe or simply very far away; I don't possess the know-how or ability to penetrate the box I'm using to reach you. But I value you, too. You are also a conscious and living being, and as a fellow member of that category, we can always self-verify our consciousness. It's not what linguists use to define consciousness, but it's what I use, as shorthand. If you can think, "I'm sentient", all on your own, that's good enough.

My given name is Civvie. I am currently sitting in a hydrated chair which is currently emitting a low hum as it warms up my water. I am wearing a single-piece suit of slightly cold fabric, and my badge is pinned to the front, bearing the Harbinger insignia. My office has a semicircular floor, coated with a dark red melanocarpet, and has a long, very slightly domed window, which I've been told can't break. I am communicating to you with a keyboard sat on my Voʒarus-sourced desk apparatus, which for the purpose of this "adventure" will be your primary method of understanding what's going on. Like I mentioned earlier, I value you. I have writer's block.