Oh Nomic, Not Againmic

Thread Rating:
  • 4 Vote(s) - 2 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Oh Nomic, Not Againmic
#26
RE: Oh Nomic, Not Againmic
there is no grand judge loather; however, there is a judge loather. there is also no judge loather
#27
RE: Oh Nomic, Not Againmic
There is no Judge Loather recognised or not recognised under the existing ruleset!

Partly because the judge slot just passed to Shredded seeing as he's before me in the turn order.
#28
RE: Oh Nomic, Not Againmic
is there at least a loather? if not can you please add an amendment that recognizes that there is a loather
#29
RE: Oh Nomic, Not Againmic
If a system of government cannot provide loathers for its people, it is a failure of a government
Sun tzu


I am 90% sure there is at least a loather. The loather is you!

Of course this is not covered in the existing ruleset so if anyone disagrees with me, then final judgement falls to the current judge, Shredded.
#30
RE: Oh Nomic, Not Againmic
You must be registered to view this content.
#31
RE: Oh Nomic, Not Againmic
You must be registered to view this content.
#32
RE: Oh Nomic, Not Againmic
With 3 for and 1 against, Proposal 301 passes with a majority as outlined in Rule 203!! The new mutable rule goes into effect:

Rule 301 Wrote:At the end of each Turn, each active player may procure a Staff Nomber, up to a maximum of 5 Staff Nombers. Each player will have a different type of Staff Nomber with a unique Title, to be chosen when the player acquires their first Staff Nomber. All subsequent Staff Nombers procured by that player will share the Title. The Title must be a single word not found in the Initial Ruleset.

At the time of this Rule's enactment, Staff Nombers serve no purpose other than for players to personalise their campaigns. Maybe we can exchange them for votes or political favours or internships or the like? It is a mystery

In accordance with Rule 202, I subtract 291 from 301 and multiply the result (10) by 0.75, netting 7.5 points rounded up to 8.
Schazer gains 8 points.
In accordance with Rule 204, by voting against a successful proposal Chwoka gains 10 points.

In accordance with Rule 205, Rule 301 has come into effect. As it is the end of my turn, I will (as per Rule 301) procure one (1) Bugbird Staff Nomber. Other players may procure a Staff Nomber with an acceptable Title before Chwoka's turn, if they wish.

I believe Chwoka can start his turn before all players have expressed whether or not they will procure a Staff Nomber for Turn 1, though anyone is free to disagree with that interpretation.
#33
RE: Oh Nomic, Not Againmic
The second post is now updated!
#34
RE: Oh Nomic, Not Againmic
You must be registered to view this content.
#35
RE: Oh Nomic, Not Againmic
I'll take a Bonetractor Staff Nomber
#36
RE: Oh Nomic, Not Againmic
i am going to exploit syntactic ambiguity to claim 5 staff nombers (let's say bankers) in one fell swoop, then end the nomber-claiming cycle by proposing loather's old rule:

Loathedinger's Rule 302 Wrote:Loather is permanently the judge, and also not the judge.

the wording is intentionally left highly vague, to be interpreted by a judge.
#37
RE: Oh Nomic, Not Againmic
You must be registered to view this content.
#38
RE: Oh Nomic, Not Againmic
(I want to join, but I also am afraid to. For now I shall simply watch.)
Sig:
Show Content
#39
RE: Oh Nomic, Not Againmic
---Second Post has been updated with Staff Nombers, except Chwoka's, due to a dispute in how many units he should have.---

(Reyweld join in)

Firstly: I dispute Chwoka's ability to claim 5 Banker Staff Nombers. Where's the syntactic ambiguity that permits it?

(All this may be exacerbated by Chwoka not being present and able to answer for the next 24 hours, bleh. Otoh, I'm the judge right now so I could rule in favour of Chwoka gaining only 1 Staff Nomber, but I do want to hear on what grounds he's justifying it.)


Second: with 302 in its current incarnation, wouldn't "Loather is the judge" on all turns except Shredded' be contradicting Rule 212, which states that "the player preceding the one moving is to be the Judge."?

Because Rule 211 states that Rules with smaller numbers take precedent in the event of contradictions, this is an ineffective new rule. If it were an amendment to Rule 212, on the other hand...
#40
RE: Oh Nomic, Not Againmic
(01-12-2016, 04:32 PM)☆ C.H.W.O.K.A ☆ Wrote: »
Show Content

I vote in favor of "Loathedinger's" Rule 302, as it is now.

Also, I agree with Schazer in that 5 cannot be taken, rule 301 says each player may take a Staff Nomber.
Sig:
Show Content
#41
RE: Oh Nomic, Not Againmic
You're gonna join us, Rey?
#42
RE: Oh Nomic, Not Againmic
yes
Sig:
Show Content
#43
RE: Oh Nomic, Not Againmic
waaaaaaait I think I see what Chwoka's getting at.

He may procure a Staff Nomber at the end of turn.
It is still the end of the turn. He procures a Staff Nomber.
He continues to do this until he has five Staff Nombers, the maximum (he may procure at the end of a turn), then starts the new turn by proposing Rule 302.

My intent with the rule was "you get one a turn, the most you can have is five."

I would like to Invoke Judgement on Chwoka's interpretation of Rule 302.
#44
RE: Oh Nomic, Not Againmic
You must be registered to view this content.
#45
RE: Oh Nomic, Not Againmic
Well, tough beans because as of Chwoka's turn, I'm the presiding Judge!

Judgement on: maximum procurable Staff Nombers per turn end Wrote:Rule 301 is interpreted, however ambiguously worded, as indicating each player may acquire a single Staff Nomber per turn end. They may perform the aforementioned action once at the end of each turn, unless they already have the maximum number of Staff Nombers (as of this ruling, 5.)

This Judgement can be overruled, but only by "a unanimous vote of the other players taken before the next turn is begun", as per Rule 212.

The 2nd post has been updated with the Judge's ruling, and Chwoka's updated tally of Staff Nombers.
#46
RE: Oh Nomic, Not Againmic
You must be registered to view this content.
#47
RE: Oh Nomic, Not Againmic
He is, which means he's probably going to be designated as an Inactive player.

Rule 117 Wrote:Play must continue on a daily basis. If no action which continues play has been taken in 24 hours, then the last player required to take an action will be considered an inactive player. If multiple players were required to take action at the same time, the player next in the turn order will be considered an inactive player.

With this rule, 24 hours after my post #45 where I Invoked Judgement, Chwoka was the last player required to take action (IAW Rule 111, to declare when debate ends and voting on 302 starts). He becomes Inactive, aaaaaand then the rules are ambiguous.

He's no longer a Player for the purposes of rules re: turn order and judge designation, so theoretically it becomes Loather's turn and 302 is never voted on (unless, per Rule 111, the Judge is called in to declare when Voting on 302 starts).
#48
RE: Oh Nomic, Not Againmic
so yeah we've got 5 hours to decide whether to vote on (and acknowledge the existence of) a rule which makes the existence of Loather's simultaneous Judge status+nonstatus an actual rule.

If anyone invokes the current Judge (me, for the next 5 hours) to declare 302 is open for voting, then we can vote on it! If nobody does that in the next five hours, Chwoka is inactive and play passes to Loather.
#49
RE: Oh Nomic, Not Againmic
i'm in favor
#50
RE: Oh Nomic, Not Againmic
You must be registered to view this content.